Monday, January 20, 2014


Just recently, Pope Francis announced the names of the new cardinals to be formally instated at an assembly of cardinals led by the Pope called Consistory on February 22, 2014, the Feast of the chair of St. Peter.

The new cardinals:

Archbishop Pietro Parolin - Italy
Archbishop Lorenzo Baldisseri - Italy
Archbishop-Bishop emeritus Gerhard Ludwig Müller - Germany
Archbishop Beniamino Stella - Italy
Archbishop Vincent Nichols - Great Britain
Archbishop Leopoldo José Brenes - Nicaragua
Archbishop Gérald Cyprien Lacroix - Canada
Archbishop Jean-Pierre Kutwa - Ivory Coast
Archbishop Orani Joäo Tempesta - Brazil
Archbishop Gualtiero Bassetti - Italy
Archbishop Mario Aurelio Poli - Argentina
Archbishop Andrew Yeom Soo Jung - South Korea
Archbishop Ricardo Ezzati Andrello - Chile
Archbishop Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo - Burkina Faso
Archbishop Orlando B. Quevedo - Philippines
Bishop Chibly Langiois - Haiti
Archbishop Loris Francesco Capovilla - Italy
Archbishop emeritus Fernando Sebastian Aguilar - Spain
Archbishop emeritus Kelvin Edward Felix - St. Lucia